Tories win 31 of 46 seats on Warwick District Council - The Leamington Observer
Online Editions

20th Aug, 2022

Tories win 31 of 46 seats on Warwick District Council

Leamington Editorial 9th May, 2015 Updated: 28th Oct, 2016

THE CONSERVATIVES hold an overall majority on Warwick District Council following the latest round of elections.

Members of the party were all smiles as they walked away having scooped 31 of the 46 available seats on the authority – an increase on the 25 they won back in 2011.

Their success follows that of recently re-elected MP Chris White, who held his Warwick and Lamington seat in Thurday’s (May 7) general election.

Conservative candidates won every available seats in the following wards: Abbey, Arden, Aylesford, Bishop’s Tachbrook, Budbrooke, Manor, Myton & Heathcote, Newbold, Park Hill, Radford Semele, St. Johns, Stoneleigh & Cubbington and Woodloes.

Labour finished the day with nine seats while in Whitnash, the Whitnash Residents Association scooped all three seats courtesy of Judith Falp, Tony Heath and Robert Margrave.

The district also saw its first ever Green candidate elected to the district council with Ian Davison winning one of two seats in the Brunswick ward.

And the Lib Dems managed to pick up the remaining two seats on the authority.

For a full reaction to the elections see next week’s Observer.

Visit for a full breakdown of the results.

Public Notices

View and download all of the public notices in the Leamington Observer.

Reader Travel

Check out all of the latest reader travel offers to get your hands on some free gifts.


Receive a weekly update to your inbox by signing up to our weekly newsletter.

Book an Advert

Book your newspaper advert with our online advert creation tool.