Conservatives gain overall control of Warwickshire County Council - The Leamington Observer

Conservatives gain overall control of Warwickshire County Council

Leamington Editorial 5th May, 2017 Updated: 5th May, 2017   0


THE CONSERVATIVES have gained overall control of Warwickshire County Council.

The Tories, who previously led the council with 26 seats, won 36 of the 57 seats at Thursday’s.

Labour lost ten seats leaving the party with ten; while the Lib Dems lost one leaving them with seven. There are also two Greens, and two Independents.

In Warwick district 64 candidates contested 14 divisions. Following the vote, seven of the seats are held by the Conservatives, three by the Lib Dems, two by Labour, one by Green, and one by Whitnash residents Association.

The results from the respective divisions were:

Budbrooke & Bishop`s Tachbrook – seat won by Les Caborn (Con) – 2082

– Colin Quinney (Lab) 533; John Cooper (Lib Dem) 361; Derrick Knight (Green) 155

Cubbington & Leek Wootton – seat won by Wallace Redford (Con) – 1,725

– Nicholas Hoten (Lab) 465; Helen James (Lib Dem) 302; Chris Philpott (Green) 275

Kenilworth Park Hill – seat won by Dave Shilton (Con) – 1591

– Rachel Clayton (Lib Dem) 699; Audrey Mullender (Lab) 390; John Dearing (Green) 317

Kenilworth St John`s – seat won by Alan Cockburn (Con) – 1486

– Richard Dickson (Lib Dem) 1385; Wallace McDowell (Lab) 378; Pippa Austin (Green) 162; Martin Mackenzie (UKIP) 102

Lapworth & West Kenilworth – seat won by John Cooke (Con) 1602

– Kate Dickson (Lib Dem) 655; Joshua Payne (Lab) 246; Samuel Porter (Green) 96; Ian Tyres (UKIP) 58

Leamington Brunswick – seat won by Jonathan Chilvers (Green) – 1340

– Jojo Norris (Lab) 774: Samuel Carter (Con) 233; Louis Adam (Lib Dem) 78

Leamington Clarendon – seat won by Nicola Davies (Lib Dem) – 998

– Elizabeth Phillips (Con) 944; Jerry Weber (Labour and Cooperative) 771: Will Roberts (Green) 139; Gerry Smith (UKIP) 76

Leamington Milverton – seat won by Bill Gifford (Lib Dem) – 1907

– Anne-Marie Campion (Con) 839; Andy Marshall (Lab) 383; Will Bryce (Green) 116

Leamington North – seat won by Sarah Boad (Lib Dem) – 1501

– Diana Taulbut (Lab) 960; Stacey Calder (Con) 835; Marcia Watson (Green) 126

Leamington Willes – seat won by Matt Western (Lab) – 1244

– Martin Luckhurst (Green) 940; Sean Rose (Con); Matt Western (Lab) 430; Simon Wheeler (Lib Dem) 95

Warwick North – seat won by Pam Willaims – 1172

– Helen Adkins (Lab) 1011; Chris Begg (Lib Dem) 177; Alastair MacBrayne (UKIP) 141; Tracey Drew (Green) 99

Warwick South – seat won by Parminder Singh Birdi (Con) – 1409

– Kelvin Lambert (Lib Dem) 579; Serhan Wade (Labour and Cooperative) 486; Matt Swift (Green); Mark Skinner (UKIP) 163

Warwick West – seat won by John Holland (Lab) -1263

– Clare Hopkinson (Con) 1259; Dale Cox (Lib Dem) 268; Bob Dhillon (UKIP) 137; Pam Lunn (Green) 109

Whitnash – seat won by Judy Falp (Whitnash Residents Association) – 1154

– Dave Rawcliffe (Lab) 419; Adrian Barton (Independent) 323; Jules Morgan (Con) 253; Eloise Chilvers (Green) 218; Chris Walsh (Lib Dem) 41




Click here for full results








Weddings, Birthdays, Bereavements, Thank you notices, Marriages and more.

Buy Photos

Buy photos online from the Leamington Observer newspaper.

Online Editions

Catch up on your local news by reading our e-editions on the Leamington Observer.


Find a career you'll love with our free career finder website.